Verstappen is world champion again after a lot of rain and waiting in Japan

Max Verstappen won the Formula 1 title for the second consecutive year. The Red Bull Dutchman won the Japanese Grand Prix at Suzuka, but he didn’t realize he was world champion when he crossed the finish line and shortly after when Charles Leclerc received a penalty.

The Ferrari driver finished second but received a 5-second time penalty which sent him third at the expense of Sergio Perez in the other Red Bull, and with this development the Monegasque can no longer catch Max at the top of the overall ranking. Verstappen’s twelfth win of the season came in a marathon race that lasted a full three hours.

Heavy rain interrupted the race already on the second lap, with the pause before the restart lasting nearly two hours.

However, a lot of things happened for those two laps – Carlos Sainz hit a wall and crashed, and a safety car came out on the track, after which the red flag was raised. Just before entering the pits, however, Pierre Gasly with “Alfa Tauri” narrowly missed hitting a tractor that had left the track and was there to collect Sainz’s car.

The incident quite logically infuriated the French pilot, who erupted on social media and was supported by his colleagues. In 2014, Jules Bianchi died precisely after a collision with a Suzuka tractor.

Otherwise, Verstappen, who started first, led the race from start to finish and deservedly triumphed.

After the first three, Esteban Ocon (Alpin), Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes), Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin), Fernando Alonso (Alpin), George Russell (Mercedes) also lined up in the points zone ), Nicola Latifi (Williams) and Lando Norris (McLaren).

Max became the eleventh driver to successfully defend his Formula 1 title. The others who have done so are Alberto Ascari, Juan Manuel Fangio, Jack Brabham, Alain Prost, Ayrton Senna, Michael Schumacher, Mika Hakkinen, Fernando Alonso, Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton.

Related Articles

Back to top button