Verstappen also took the win in Mexico

Max Verstappen Photo Red Bull Content Pool

Max Verstappen won the race for the Mexican Grand Prix. The Red Bull driver started from pole position and recorded his 14th win of the season and fourth at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodríguez. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) finished second. Third place was taken by local hero Sergio Perez (Red Bull).

The weather before the start of this year’s race in Mexico was again dry and sunny. The air temperature was 25 degrees Celsius, and that of the asphalt – 45. The humidity was 35%. The atmosphere around the Autodromo Hermanos Rodríguez track was once again incredible. The whole audience quite expectedly chant “Cheko, Cheko.”

The majority of competitors decided to go with a medium. Exceptions are those of Red Bull, Ferrari, Tsunoda, Vettel, Schumacher and Latifi, who were with soft. Strategy will be key to who takes victory in Mexico City.

Verstappen defended his first position on the long start-finish straight. Hamilton got off to a great start and overtook Russell. The young Briton also lost ground to Peres. Behind the Mexican were Sainz, Leclerc, Alonso, Bottas, Ocon and Norris. At the bottom, Magnussen overtook the Williams machines.

Verstappen set the fastest lap and tried to break away. 5 laps after the start of the Mexican Grand Prix, the Red Bull rider led by a second and a half ahead of Hamilton, Perez and Russell. Behind the Briton were Sainz, Leclerc, Alonso, Bottas, Ocon and Norris. The most contested fight in the top 10 was between Bottas and Alonso.

Hamilton set the fastest lap and began to chip away at Verstappen’s lead. The seven-time world champion started to gain an advantage on his medium hard tires. Norris made a mistake in the first turn and lost time.

13 laps into the start of the 2022 Mexican Grand Prix, Stroll complained about the track’s low grip. At the front, Verstappen led ahead of Hamilton, Perez, Russell, Sainz, Leclerc, Alonso, Bottas, Ocon and Norris. The most interesting fight of the race was between Gasly and Stroll. The Frenchman overtook his Canadian counterpart, who complained that he had been pushed off the track. Hamilton continued to hold the fastest lap and kept Verstappen from getting too far ahead.

Stroll made the first stop of the race on lap #18 and put on soft tyres. At the same time, Gasly received a 5-second penalty for the incident with the Aston Martin driver. Leclerc asked on the radio if they should go to Plan C. He was told by Ferrari that it was too risky because of the traffic.

Verstappen said on the radio that he was starting to lose grip in the slow corners. The Red Bull pilot was moving with an advance of 2 seconds. before Hamilton. Behind the leading pair, Perez was moving by a similar margin to Russell. More than 10 seconds behind the first four were Sainz and Leclerc. The rest of the top 10 was unchanged.

Perez made the first pit stop on lap #24. The Mexican equipped with a medium but was delayed in the pits by a mistake when changing the rear left tire and went ahead of Alonso. At the front, Verstappen began to complain more and more about the tires. Hamilton said his tires were fine. Two laps later, Verstappen also pitted for Pirelli’s medium hard compounds. The Dutchman’s boxing was clean. His Red Bull team-mate easily overtook Leclerc and began chasing Sainz. The crowd was on its feet at Perez’s maneuver against Leclerc. The Monegasque made a pit stop for medium hard compounds.

Hamilton pitted on lap 30. Surprisingly, the mechanics of the British put hard. Sainz also went through the pits and was slightly amused.

35 laps after the start of the Mexican Grand Prix Russell also went through the pits and came back behind Perez. At the front, Verstappen led ahead of Hamilton. Alonso and Bottas occupied fifth and sixth positions because they had not yet changed their medium tires. At the back of the column were the usual suspects Stroll, Magnussen, Schumacher and Latifi. The Ferrari drivers continued to move at a significantly lower pace than those of Red Bull and Mercedes.

On lap 40, Verstappen continued to lead Hamilton. The Mercedes driver was having serious difficulties with Pirelli’s hard compounds. About a second behind him was Perez, followed by Russell. Fifth and sixth again were Sainz and Leclerc. Ricciardo, Alonso, Zhu and Bottas were also in the top 10. The Alfa Romeo racer went hard and lost position to Ocon. Hamilton and Russell complained about the poor speed of the hard compounds.

At the bottom of the top 10, Ocon and Bottas overtook Zhu on the long start-finish straight. Verstappen led by more than 10 seconds ahead of Hamilton, who was 1.5 seconds behind. in front of Peres. The Mexican was followed by Russell, Sainz, Leclerc and Alonso. Ocon was defending himself from the attacks of Bottas. Zhu, on the other hand, made another pit stop and put on soft tires.

On lap 51, Ricciardo was battling Tsunoda. The McLaren driver had contact with his Alfa Tauri rival at turn six. “What the hell is he doing,” Tsunoda said angrily over the radio. He then returned to the pits and ended his participation in the race in Mexico City. The Australian received a 10-second penalty from the stewards for the hit with Tsunoda.

As the race progressed, Verstappen controlled his pace and we are on our way to another success. Behind him, Hamilton was trying to defend his position from Perez. The remaining positions in the top 10 were occupied by Russell, Sainz, Leclerc, Alonso, Ocon, Bottas and Ricciardo. The Finn was defending himself against his Australian colleague. Russell continued to not enjoy his pace with Pirelli’s hard compounds. The fastest lap went to Perez.

Ricciardo overtook the Alpin cars and took seventh place. The differences in the forehead started to get bigger. On lap 65, Alonso pitted in the safety zone after the long straight and retired with a Renault engine problem. This triggered a virtual security car. Russell requested another pit stop but was not given permission by Mercedes.

By the end of the 2022 Mexican Grand Prix, Verstappen routinely drove his car to first place. The Red Bull driver recorded his 14th success and broke the record for most wins in a season. Next to him on the podium went Hamilton and Perez. Russell finished fourth after making another stop for soft tyres. The Briton still took consolation with the fastest lap of the race. Fifth and sixth remained Sainz and Leclerc. Ricciardo, Ocon, Norris and Bottas completed the top 10.

Related Articles

Back to top button