Ballon d’Or nominees announced: Messi is out – Football World – France

The current Ballon d’Or winner, Lionel Messi, was not among the nominees for this year’s award. Tonight, the organizers from “France Football” determined the list of 30 football players, from among which the winner of the most prestigious individual award will be chosen, but the Argentine did not make it.

Another one of the stars of Paris Saint-Germain – Neymar – remained outside the nominees. Messi, who is a seven-time winner of the award, has not been featured since his poor debut season in France. This is happening for the first time since 2005.

Five-time winner of the poll, Cristiano Ronaldo, however, is among the candidates for the award for the 18th consecutive year. The Portuguese earned his first nomination in 2005 when he ranked 20th in the rankings.

Among the nominees are the names of six footballers of the European club champion Real Madrid, including this summer’s Chelsea signing Antonio Rüdiger. Six are also selected from Liverpool. Polish striker Robert Lewandowski, who moved from Bayern Munich to Barcelona this summer, and Mohamed Salah are also among those selected.

“The list for 2022 is unprecedented. When “France Football” decides to change, it’s not half-hearted,” the editors write.

The favorite for this year’s “Golden Ball” remains the striker of the “Kings” – Karim Benzema.

Here are all the Ballon d’Or nominees:

Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

Erling Haaland (Manchester City)

Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)

Joao Cancelo (Manchester City)

Dusan Vlahovic (Juventus)

Sebastian Alle (Borussia Dortmund)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Antonio Rudiger (Real Madrid)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

Mike Menian (Milan)

Harry Kane (Tottenham)

Darwin Nunes (Liverpool)

Phil Foden (Manchester City)

Sadio Mane (Bayern Munich)

Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)

Casemiro (Real Madrid)

Hyun-min Son (Tottenham)

Fabinho (Liverpool)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid)

Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)

Luis Diaz (Liverpool)

Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona)

Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)

Rafael Leao (Milan)

Christopher Nkunku (RB Leipzig)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich)

Related Articles

Back to top button